Initially, I had intended on using the traditional Lacrimosa operatic soundtrack as the score for Thirst. 

In case I haven’t mentioned it earlier, Thirst is the final title for our major project for this Vampire Diaries/ Sin City themed teaser title sequence. However, after listening to the operatic version of the track, I realized that it didn’t really suit the shots since it is quite blatantly obvious that the story is set in the 21st century. Lacrimosa is set in the Classical Era which was composed by Mozart. I even tried to experiment using Psychedelic genres where most of the tracks are set at 140 bpm which is used to create forest psychedelic music. That was going to be added on to the chase sequence of the video but then after I tried to merge a few tracks together, it didn’t quite work out and it sounded quite abrupt. I would probably use it elsewhere if the video was over 2 minutes.

I’m in charge of the sound/ music component and after debating between Lacrimosa and Toccata and Fuge in D Minor which is an eerie Frankenstein/ Dracula opening title sequence, I decided to make use of the Lacrimosa remixed version by Troy Holder which I got off freemusicarchive.org .

It was phenomenal. I fell in love with it the instant I heard it and knew that this track would be ideal for our title sequence.

Take a listen to it and compare it to the original which is composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.
Take a listen to it and compare it to the original which is composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

I also worked on the ‘Black Eye’. I will explain how this process took place in my next blog post. In the mean time, get the jitters.

Leave a Reply

